Traumatic day? . . .


Nope! Instead, a wonderful day full of healing and strength.

I faced a hurdle this morning that I had thought would undo all of the hard-earned progress I’ve made recently, psychologically.

I came out the other side virtually unscathed.

It is weird to me to see a situation wherein another is acting in a negative way and not try to assume responsibility. Yet, today, I did so. I wonder if this is part of the key to healing my depression: not assuming responsibility or guilt when something goes wrong or when someone I know is hurting. My encounter took place early in my day, yet I was able to rise above it and perform my job to the best of my ability, rather than wallowing and stewing all day about what I’d done wrong or how I could have made the situation better. Sometimes, it truly is the little things that count.

After work, I knew that I’d be going into town for groceries, and originally, my eldest was going to walk to my work to meet me so that I didn’t have to go home first. Well, I was struck with inspiration early in my work day and decided that I wanted to go to the beach before grocery shopping.

Now, my eldest hates it when I change plans, but my youngest hadn’t been anywhere except school and home for quite some time, so I was conflicted. In the end, I went for the change of plans, called and invited both to accompany me to the beach.

It turned out to be the best idea I’ve had in a very long time.

I’ve always felt something rejuvenating while visiting the beach. The sounds of the waves, the rocks shifting underfoot, the smell of “sushi” (as my youngest calls it) and the sight of fathomless depths stretching out as far as the eye can see have always served to make me feel complete, whole, and, yes, small. Perhaps that sense of perspective is the true healing salve I draw from the beach. No matter what you call it, or how you define it, my time spent at the beach today, in a city park no less, was the best hour and a half I’ve had in days.

😀

I hope you all had a wonderful moment in your day that served to remind you of why life is worth living.

Categories: writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Life (Time) of Cooking

A Cupboard of Spices - A Quiet Kitchen - A Taste of India

What's for Dinner Moms?

Creativity for my life.

Robbinn's Recipes

Healthy recipes, gluten-free...

The Comfortable Coop

One old hen making a cozy nest

clean lean bean

realistic and affordable healthy living

The Salted Pistachio

Play with your Food ~ Communicating Food, Foodways and Fun ~ Recipes, Reviews & More!

stay-healthy&happy

Love Yourself, The Most

Allison D. Reid

Christian Fantasy Author

Nola Nerd Couple

The stories of a couple who love cooking, traveling, eating, reading, listening, watching, collecting, comic con-ing, and other nerdy things!

Espresso Patronum

wife, mother, & caffeine addict

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

Our 25th Anniversary

a celebration 3 years and 3 months in the planning

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

One Happy Table

Vegan Food for the Whole Family

Fresh & Foodie

A food blog with a buzz. Born and raised in Chicago.

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

