Mental Health, a never ending journey


For as long as I can remember, I have struggled with depression. Through deep self-reflection, I am slowly making progress towards a truly healthy mental outlook. I have to be honest and say, however, that this is literally the hardest thing I have ever done, and I don’t know that there will ever be an end to it. That thought scares me.

The past year+ has been fraught with drama, life changes, and a lot of pain. I have dealt with it by numbing my mind as often as I could, and had taken a hiatus from writing anything at all. However, I recently made a breakthrough and felt what it was like to love myself wholeheartedly for the first time. To accept myself. To seek the approval I’ve always sought from others, from myself instead. It is strange, wonderful, and scary as hell. If I’m not being validated by others, how can I be sure I’m actually worth the validation? Not that seeking outside approval has made me happy or healthy in the past, but change is hard, and sometimes, I’d just like everything to stay the same for a little while.

For now, I’ll keep trying until this new outlook becomes the norm. This post is a commitment to that goal. A commitment to reminding myself that life is better when it is lived healthily and fully.

Categories: writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Life (Time) of Cooking

A Cupboard of Spices - A Quiet Kitchen - A Taste of India

What's for Dinner Moms?

Creativity for my life.

Robbinn's Recipes

Healthy recipes, gluten-free...

The Comfortable Coop

One old hen making a cozy nest

clean lean bean

realistic and affordable healthy living

The Salted Pistachio

Play with your Food ~ Communicating Food, Foodways and Fun ~ Recipes, Reviews & More!

stay-healthy&happy

Love Yourself, The Most

Allison D. Reid

Christian Fantasy Author

Nola Nerd Couple

The stories of a couple who love cooking, traveling, eating, reading, listening, watching, collecting, comic con-ing, and other nerdy things!

Espresso Patronum

wife, mother, & caffeine addict

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

Our 25th Anniversary

a celebration 3 years and 3 months in the planning

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

One Happy Table

Vegan Food for the Whole Family

Fresh & Foodie

A food blog with a buzz. Born and raised in Chicago.

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

