Thanksgiving leftovers. . .


. . .  my new post on my new “American Cuisine” page. Thanks for reading. 🙂

American cuisine, for the purposes of this site, includes mainly foods that are stereotypically associated with America.

Sometimes this will mean burgers and fries. Sometimes it will mean restaurant dishes and sometimes it will mean meals prepared in my own kitchen. After all, the point of this section is to embark on a world tour through readily available cuisine here where I live, in  America. In honor of that, I figured I would start with the most quintessential American dish of all.

Turkey on Thanksgiving.

As yesterday was Thanksgiving ( a holiday worthy of its own post ) I feel that it is appropriate to start this new section ( and this new lease on my writing obsession ) with American cuisine centered around Thanksgiving leftovers.

Turkey.

Mashed potatoes.

Green bean casserole.

Pumpkin pie.

Sweet potato pie.

Corn.

Gravy.

Did I mention turkey?

Stuffing. I have a love/hate relationship with stuffing. I’m trying to move it from “hate” to “tolerate” if I can’t achieve “love”. This year I made it deliberately dry, since my main complaint with stuffing is that I loathe (with a passion) soggy bread. I know. Many people will be outraged by the previous statement.

Oh, well.

It’s my kitchen, my mouth, and I’ll make it how I want too. There was plenty of soggy, drippy, mushy stuffing out of the bird, anyway.

Where was I? Oh, yes. Listing delicious Thanksgiving treats. I forgot one of the most important ones: cranberry jelly.

I have never liked cranberry jelly before this year.

I have always loved cranberry salad with walnuts, cool whip, and grapes. However, the walnuts do not like me (my mouth is easily irritated by them) and I’ve yet to try to make my favorite cranberry dish with pecans instead of walnuts. This year, however, I did discover a fabulous cranberry wine that I just loved ( and I normally do not like wine much at all ) and I discovered why people like cranberry sauce.

Today’s leftovers for my personal consumption started with pumpkin pie and whipped cream for breakfast ( I did a two-mile walk after, so I refuse to feel guilty ) and for lunch, two turkey sandwiches on potato rolls. I took a chance today, wanting to tantalize my taste-buds instead of boring them to death, and added a smear of cranberry jelly to my sandwiches.

Lo and behold, I love it!

The tang, the sweetness, the smooth consistency mixed with the ever-so-slight-resistance of the bread and the shredded turkey filling, was perfection in my mouth. I still prefer my turkey piping hot and lightly salted, or perhaps kissed with gravy, at Thanksgiving dinner, but there is something to be said for cold turkey freshly plucked from the bone, piled high between two pieces of delicious bread, slathered with mayo and cranberry sauce.

Of course, tomatoes, lettuce, sprouts, cheddar, a little bacon added to that turkey and cranberry sauce also sounds divine. Maybe that will be dinner. . .

Categories: writing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Life (Time) of Cooking

A Cupboard of Spices - A Quiet Kitchen - A Taste of India

What's for Dinner Moms?

Creativity for my life.

Robbinn's Recipes

Healthy recipes, gluten-free...

The Comfortable Coop

One old hen making a cozy nest

clean lean bean

realistic and affordable healthy living

The Salted Pistachio

Play with your Food ~ Communicating Food, Foodways and Fun ~ Recipes, Reviews & More!

stay-healthy&happy

Love Yourself, The Most

Allison D. Reid

Christian Fantasy Author

Nola Nerd Couple

The stories of a couple who love cooking, traveling, eating, reading, listening, watching, collecting, comic con-ing, and other nerdy things!

Espresso Patronum

wife, mother, & caffeine addict

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

Our 25th Anniversary

a celebration 3 years and 3 months in the planning

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

One Happy Table

Vegan Food for the Whole Family

Fresh & Foodie

A food blog with a buzz. Born and raised in Chicago.

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob

