Rant, warning. . .


If I never again see or hear a religious reference uttered by my (meaning the ones who run the country) politicians, I will be happy.

Separation of Church and State was written into the Constitution for a reason.

Kindly remember that this country was founded by Protestants escaping England due to religious persecution. Not because they wanted a nation of Protestants but simply because they wanted a nation where they had the freedom to worship without persecution. They desired a safe haven in which to live their lives as they saw fit and while they may not have been perfectly upstanding people, their descendents at least had the foresight to know that religion and politics do not mix here in America.

At least, they are not supposed to.

Well guess what?

I want the freedom to NOT worship without persecution.
Mr. Romney scared the bejebus out of me.

I do not believe he will let me worship or not, as I will.

I do not believe he will let me love who I will (being bisexual, a goodly portion of the population- and I’m fairly certain Mr. Romey is in this group- thinks I’m sinful just by existing).

I do not believe Mr. Romney knows what it is like to see the box of food from the government sitting on the front porch as you get home from school.

Nor do I believe he knows what it is like to raise a child on less than $1000 a month.

In short, Mr. Romney has his eyes on the prize- the “planet Kolob” eventually- and has no place in his worldview for the realities of life below the silver-spoon level.

Give me a president who knows what it is like to come from a home that is not Americana perfection, one who knows what adversity and hardship really are.

For now, that means, give me Barack Obama and his family. That is who I feel connected to.  That is who I believe.

Of course, the second term for any president is their most effective term, but I honestly believe that Mr. Obama remembers what life is like for the majority of Americans- hard, living paycheck to paycheck- and that he cares about what happens to us, even if he hasn’t been as effective as most of his constituents want. What do they expect, I wonder? Do they expect him to buck the trend and set new precedence in terms of Presidential effectiveness?

If so, they are silly.

Everyone knows- or should- that the President is largely ineffectual (in terms of his campaign promises) the first four years in office. That time is spent trying to ensure that he can get reelected for a second term (gosh, but I can’t wait until it is “he or she” instead of “he”), when he knows he’ll finally be able to effect some of the more important and controversial changes that he wants to effect. Even if that knowledge comes only because he knows he cannot get elected for a third term and thus can institute the policies he truly wants to.

We have a chance to see what Mr. Obama really can do.
Do we want to throw that away for a Mormon politician whose end goal seems to be the oval office solely because it is something to do? I don’t feel Mr. Romney has America’s best interests at heart. I feel he has the Romney family’s best interests at heart and nothing more.

But that is, of course, simply my opinion.

I just needed to vent after catching the last half of the debate tonight.

Categories: writing | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Rant, warning. . .

  1. Ah, you should come to New Zealand. There’s the opposite problem here :).

  2. Pingback: Dear Mr. President « Pull Up A Stump – The Blog of Writer T.C. Doust

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Life (Time) of Cooking

A Cupboard of Spices - A Quiet Kitchen - A Taste of India

What's for Dinner Moms?

Creativity for my life.

Robbinn's Recipes

Healthy recipes, gluten-free...

The Comfortable Coop

One old hen making a cozy nest

clean lean bean

realistic and affordable healthy living

The Salted Pistachio

Play with your Food ~ Communicating Food, Foodways and Fun ~ Recipes, Reviews & More!

stay-healthy&happy

Love Yourself, The Most

Allison D. Reid

Christian Fantasy Author

Nola Nerd Couple

The stories of a couple who love cooking, traveling, eating, reading, listening, watching, collecting, comic con-ing, and other nerdy things!

Espresso Patronum

wife, mother, & caffeine addict

jovina cooks

Healthy Mediterranean Cooking at Home

Our 25th Anniversary

a celebration 3 years and 3 months in the planning

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

One Happy Table

Vegan Food for the Whole Family

Fresh & Foodie

A food blog with a buzz. Born and raised in Chicago.

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

